Take 17 Days Off and Get Shit On

The Orange Journal is still here

Susie Pinon
Anyone Can Write Online

--

Susie Pinon
It’s me

Sometimes you just want to curl up into a ball and retreat. Maybe you know the feeling.

It’s funny. A random article I wrote for the sole purpose of getting things off my chest generated a long litany of comments.

Some hateful, others kind.

I’ll be honest. I stopped reading them. Just can’t bend so much anymore.

You know what else is funny?

How we tend to judge one another.

A couple of days back, a stranger found my personal Facebook and sent me a message after I denied his friend request.

He felt I owed him an explanation for ‘misleading writers’ on Medium and quite frankly, he was an idiot.

I didn’t think my absence would be noticed to the point of receiving hateful messages from Medium friends and strangers alike.

My top favorite,

“Stop moaning, work harder.”

Medium is a frightful place. It’s designed to elicit a sense of urgency to keep up with one another.

Breaking free from the chains of pressure we place on ourselves is utterly dramatic.

--

--

Susie Pinon
Anyone Can Write Online

If I’m not typing, I’m at the beach, eating chocolate, yoga-ing, or watching my soaps. Here to help you grow into your best self without making it hurt.😉