Digital Document

Alyssa Gamboa
Applied Learning Theory
3 min readMar 26, 2021

IDT300x Week 2 Assignment: Create a digital document and evaluate using the Digital Media Evaluation Checklist.

Photo by NordWood Themes on Unsplash

I created this PDF on how to care for, pot, and propagate succulents to share with attendees after a presentation on succulent care. This document is intended to serve as a reference or summary for attendees and for people who could not attend the presentation but were interested in the highlights.

Alyssa Gamboa’s Guide to Succulents is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

The presentation and PDF were created for my company’s wellness week for an audience of adults in an office environment, but I believe the document can work for audiences of all types and ages.

To avoid copyright issues, and because propagating and growing succulents is a hobby of mine, I used my own photos for the document. This made it easier to get the exact images I wanted for my directions on how to pot and propagate the plants.

I used boxes to section off different ideas and to ensure alignment throughout the document. The emoji in the bottom left are a cute way to fill in a gap and keep things aligned. I tried to keep the text as succinct as possible and include ample white space.

One concern I have is that the colors may not have enough contrast, especially for people who may experience colorblindness. I am a big fan of the green and pink color combination, especially when creating content on succulents, but I know they can appear as similar shades to people with colorblindness. The green should be a dark enough shade to contrast well with the white (white text over green in the page header, and green subtitles and boxes on white for the body content) but the pink arrows may benefit from being swapped with another color.

Here is my checklist evaluation for my Guide to Succulents PDF. This PDF is unrelated to the mindfulness curriculum I have planned for the next course, IDT400x, and this is taken into account in its evaluation:

--

--