From Monday to Sunday: my perspective on work

Katerina
arionkoder
Published in
3 min readDec 21, 2020

January 1st, 2020: the beginning of a year full of challenges and exciting plans for the future! Then the pandemic and all that it entailed came along. My plans changed and the future was uncertain. Days went by and I began to feel the need to interact with people, the need to keep my brain working. I started applying for jobs, but nothing seemed to be too motivating. Then one day I discovered Arion. It looked like a new company, but its exposure surprised me a lot. There was definitely something distinguishing that struck me in what I was reading, I wanted to know more!

To my amazement, there was an opening for a position in the People & Culture team which made me want to be part of it. And so here I am today, proud to be an Arionic.

Arion is characterized by three points which are Empowerment, Teamwork & Effective Communication; reason why I chose to talk about these matters in the first place in previous articles.

All three are always combined with a fun and happy work environment. Enjoying and having fun at work, having a pleasant work environment or establishing healthy relationships between colleagues, also helps workers feel good about themselves. Firsthand I can say that when a person is motivated and happy in their work, they will also be more productive, creative, will work better in teams, adapt more easily to changes and will develop a greater tolerance to stress. The good thing is that making a person feel comfortable in their work environment and making them better professionals, making them feel job satisfaction, is also reflected on their personal life.

Because of this, I encourage you to think about what you can do so that the people around you have a good time at work, and once you find it, do it with no hesitation. It will be great for your colleagues, for your company and of course for yourself being part of the process. If you have a negative attitude towards your work, change it! And if the circumstances of your job don’t allow you to, maybe you have not found your place yet. In this case, you have different scenarios; either you change to a new job and will have to risk a lower pay to start with, or you will take a risk and open your own business. You will think about how to reinvent yourself and this will surely not be easy, but the benefits will be worth the effort; you will be happy doing what you like.

‘Doing what you like is freedom, liking what you do is happiness’.

At Arion, fun relationships are easily fomented by its open office arrangement, one which promotes communication and creates a pleasant and comfortable working environment. Consequently, all qualified Arionics communicate well and interconnect activities that each area carries out independently, which results in a successful operation of the company. All of Arion’s operations are mindful of its horizontal structure, which is focused on teamwork and collaboration. This allows employees to be part of important decision-making moments, focused on the company’s objectives (OKRs). Employees are free to make these decisions without being subjected to questioning. Such empowerment can increase morale as well as motivation, thereby leading to greater productivity and success.

Being given the opportunity to write this article is also a great example. We are given the chance to share one’s thoughts from one’s point of interest.

I shall conclude by saying that for me, happiness at work is highly important and it makes me proud and enjoy what I do, believe in what I do, accept mistakes, it makes me use a sense of humor in work-related matters, make daily decisions without feeling afraid, be human as well as professional. Years ago, I remember the restlessness on any Sunday afternoon due to an important call on Monday… Today I don’t feel that. I love Mondays and also Wednesdays and Sundays or Thursdays.

Work is not everything we have in life, but it’s all about living with intensity and enjoying everything we do in life.

--

--