What I’ve Learned from Cartooning Cats

Life Lessons in 6 Cats — 3 lives left to go

Russell L. Brand
ART + marketing

--

Leaving aside the question of why I’m drawing cartoon cats, lets talk about what I’ve learned about life from drawing cats

It’s easier to draw big cats than little ones.

Therefore, we should always attempt big things in all of life.

Having never drawn a cat before,

in just six drawings, they suck remarkably less.

Therefore, we should expect very rapid progress on things where we have no skill, training or prior experience and should fearless take on all tasks no matter how difficult that they might sound.

By third drawing, I realized that I didn’t understand what some of the lines were meant to convey.

Once I realized that the squiggly line on the left wasn’t the tail but rather one edge of the tail, my drawings got instantly better.

Therefore in life we should expect insights and epiphanies to arrive very quickly and that a single such insight should solve everything.

Using an actual pen on actual paper produced a better cat than using a randomly chosen drawing program on my phone that didn’t have instructions and without the benefit of a stylus.

Therefore in life we should avoid new technologies.

It’s amazing what life can teach us.

Most of all it teaches us to be careful of cat forgeries.

--

--

Russell L. Brand
ART + marketing

Advancing Knowledge and Truth … … … … … … … Fostering Kindness and Compassion … … … … …Promoting Adoption of Useful Ideas & Technologies. https://goo.gl/v66fCp