Getting started as a delegator: Delegating CLEARly

Athena
Athena
Published in
2 min readSep 20, 2023

💡 CLEAR is Athena’s standard to ensure the highest possible success rate for anything you delegate.

There are five dimensions to what makes a good delegation — abbreviated into C.L.E.A.R.

Context
► Articulate the why behind what you’re asking.
► Why: Helps the EA make better decisions on your behalf.

Limits
► Set boundaries for what’s acceptable and unacceptable in the ask.
► Why: Establishes a reasonable margin of error.

Expectation
► Establish priority, timeline and deliverable for the outcome.
► Why: Helps align expectations and gives EA a clear picture of what success looks like.

Accountability
► Delineate ownership between the delegator and the delegate.
► Why: Transfers responsibility; be clear on the level of involvement you want.

Review
► Provide specific and high-quality feedback—positive and negative.
► Why: Improves future outcomes.

Below is an example where we layer on these rules to make a very vague delegation into a CLEAR one.

I need to go to L.A.

Context: I need to go to L.A. on Feb. 13 for a two-day progression offsite.
Limits: I need to go to L.A. on Feb. 13 for a two-day progression offsite. We shouldn’t spend more than $2,000 round trip.
Expectation: I need to go to L.A. on Feb. 13 for a two-day progression offsite. We shouldn’t spend more than $2,000 round trip. Please have flight options for my review by 4PM today. Prioritize this after booking Valentine’s Day dinner.
Accountability: I need to go to L.A. on Feb. 13 for a two-day progression offsite. We shouldn’t spend more than $2,000 round trip. Please have flight options for my review by 4PM today. Prioritize this after booking Valentine’s Day dinner. Once I approve the flights, you can go ahead and book.
Review: Thanks for the flight options. I choose #1. Please book. In this case, business class is too expensive, so I’d rather fly economy. Moving forward, I’d like you to source more options from Star Alliance, as that’s my preferred loyalty program.

>> Read next: Defining a delegation stack

--

--