Progressing as a delegator: Behaviors

Athena
Athena
Published in
2 min readSep 20, 2023

💡 There are seven behavioral shifts you need to make to succeed as a delegator.

  1. Problem-solving to problem assigning: The best delegators focus on solving problems in their zone of genius — and they delegate the rest.

Worst: “How should I solve this?”
Best: “How can my EA hire someone to remove this problem from my life?”

2. Putting a dollar value on time and energy: The best delegators know their time and energy are their most valuable currency. They spend money to maximize it.

Worst: “I can do this myself and save some money.”
Best: “I can’t afford NOT to delegate this.”

3. Giving up control: The best delegators focus on outcomes, not processes.

Worst: “I need to oversee everything to ensure it’s done correctly.”
Best: “Even though this was approached differently than I would have done it, we still achieved our goal.”

4. Tolerance for iteration and failure: The best delegators understand that some delegations aren’t successful the first time. They iterate and are fine with short-term failure in pursuit of long-term success.

Worst: “If it’s not perfect the first time, it’s never going to work.”
Best: “Mistakes are helpful because they lead us to success.”

5. Leaning into creativity and experimentation: The best delegators enjoy thinking of new ways and items they can delegate. They experiment and think outside the box about how to partner with their EA.

Worst: “I can’t see how my EA could help me with this task.”
Best: “I wonder how could my EA help me…”

6. Sharing frequent and effective feedback: The best delegators give constant, high-quality feedback. They know no piece of feedback is too small when it comes to their EA understanding their preferences.

Worst: “This seems like common sense”.
Best: “The more specific I am about what I like and I don’t like, the more my EA will understand how to think like me.”

7. Living with endless ambition: The best delegators dream big and always want more. More success, freedom, impact, time, love, and life.

Worst: “I have too much going on, I’m tapped.”
Best: “How can I create space in my life for my next big goal?”

>> Read next: Breadth and depth

--

--