The Flying Luna Clipper Is Scheduled To Depart From Wonderville Yet Again

Matt Hawkins
Attract Mode
Published in
2 min readAug 18, 2020

Last month’s Cineville At Wonderville celebrated a milestone, that being its first birthday, and this month’s installment marks yet another: what very well could have been The Flying Luna Clipper’s very first screening outside of Japan.

So we’re doing it again. The film was, as expected, a crowd pleaser the first time it was shown; here was the scene, at Wonderville, last year…

… And yes, taking photos of a movie while it’s being played is something I normally frown upon, but Cineville in its “natural setting” is in the middle of an “indie art-cade”, plus it’s my thing, I can do whatever I want.

Anyhow, immediately afterwards I made up my mind that I’d want to screen the film, once a year, to make it a yearly thing… and here we are. But because of you know what, it’ll be online, via Twitch!

Yes, you could just watch the YouTube version that’s been online for several years now, or you could watch it in the company of friends! But here’s the deal with these online screenings on the behalf of Wonderville: I can’t just show anything, I have to get permission from the filmmaker.

Well, in this instance, I technically don’t have to, yet I just feel far more comfortable doing so. And I am delighted to announce that I have the blessing from the creator of The Flying Lunar Clipper himself, Ikko Ohno!

The departure date and time this time around is August 31st, 9:00PM. Don’t forget to reserve your seat, via Facebook. Though if you feel like just showing up to Wonderville’s Twitch account on the day of, there should be more than enough space. But that’s not all…

Remember my recent deep dive into the possible origin of film, as well as the seemingly abandoned sequel? I naturally had to ask about the latter, and I’ll be updating said post with Ohno-san’s response… among other things!

--

--