Welcome to #TeamVRTX

Austin Weaver
AustinTWeaver
Published in
2 min readAug 3, 2017

As I began to construct my first business plan, I spent a lot of time thinking about what name would personify exactly what I had in mind. When I came across the word vertex, in my mind it was a perfect match for describing the sports and entertainment industry. Now let me explain why.

A vertex is defined in two different ways.

  1. each angular point of a polygon, polyhedron, or other figure
  2. the highest point; the top or apex.

As an athlete or sports business professional, there is no straight line to success. There are ups and downs and unexpected stops along the way, but what remains is our desire to reach our personal apex.

So what does all that mean? If you missed my last article, “A New Adventure,” I covered my acceptance into the University of Iowa Student Accelerator, an 8-week intensive business start-up program. The program was truly amazing, and I can’t thank the Iowa John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center (JPEC) enough for the opportunity.

I am thrilled to finally share with everyone what it is I have been working on, so with no further delay, Welcome to VRTX MGMT.

VRTX MGMT is a Sports and Entertainment Agency helping Athletes, Coaches and Entertainers reach the Vertex of their potential.

My goal is to connect clients to their long-term goals both on and off the playing surface or stage to chase success both in their professional and personal lives.

Why enter such a competitive space on my own? Now more than ever, athletes and entertainers are facing new challenges. It’s time some of these challenges are addressed by a new generation of representatives. I have been in a college locker room in the last 5 years, I have been in the entertainment space, I have grown up in a digital world, and most importantly, I have all the capabilities that current representatives offer.

With the launch of VRTX MGMT, I am also launching a podcast and videoblog series. We will talk about sports, business, entrepreneurship, being a young professional and connect professionals across the spectrum. Like a vertex, my mission is to connect anyone and everyone that is willing to put in the work to chase their apex. Celebrating the ups and the downs, and being transparent in the process.

I look forward to the challenges ahead, and hope that you will join #teamVRTX.

Follow us Twitter and Instagram @vrtxmgmt for the latest updates!

Like us on FaceBook https://www.facebook.com/VRTXMGMT/

--

--