9 Things Men Say That Drive Me Batty

Lily A
BELOVED
Published in
5 min readJul 18, 2022

--

Stop Saying These Things!

Photo by Kyle Cleveland on Unsplash

Let me start by saying that I love men. I love them a lot. If you needed proof that sexuality was not a choice, look at me. I keep going back to dating apps even though I am yet to find success from them. Every time I leave my home, I keep my eyes and ears out for love. I am always hopeful that this would be the day I find love. I continue loving men despite the craziness I have experienced from them. I am the definition of a hopeless romantic. I dream of one day papering my love’s face with kisses, cooking for him, buying him cards, surprising him with sweet gifts, and of course going on vacations with him.

That day has yet to come.

In the meantime, I regularly come across men in the blogosphere who repeat false tropes about women as if they are the absolute truth. These statements are annoying AF. They are generalizations and I have decided today to respond to them. Here we go:

1. Women sleep around in their teens and 20s and then want to settle down when they get into their 30s- Holy mother of generalizations. Is it all women who do this or certain kinds of women? Be honest. I am pretty sure it is not every woman and you know that I am right. There are just too many cultural, religious, and personal variations of women for men to continue saying this. Did the bookworm girl

--

--

Lily A
BELOVED

I write mostly about relationships, dating, and singleness. I also started a corporate blog https://medium.com/corporate-reflections. IG: @alilywriter.