3 Asian Stereotype Parenting Practices That I’m Following

Stereotypes can sometimes be true for an individual.

Katharine Chan
Be Unique
Published in
6 min readDec 19, 2020

--

Photo by Dragon Pan on Unsplash

Although I hate being put in a box, stereotypes can sometimes be true for an individual.

Stereotypes are observed behaviors that are generalized about a group of people who share a cultural/ethnic background. It’s the generalizing part that annoys me.

I am someone who was shaped by a mosaic of Western and Eastern experiences. Defining my identity as a Chinese Canadian mom is an ongoing journey.

I’ve written about 3 Asian stereotype parenting practices that I experienced as a child and will not follow.

Therefore, to defy being a stereotypical Asian Canadian kid who rejects her culture, I’m sharing 3 Asian parenting practices that I see value in and will instill into my role as mom.

Aside from these, I also value the preservation of language, Chinese medicine, and superstitions. What about the food? Absolutely.

I mainly cook Chinese food. I’m a Foodie. I married a Foodie. My friends are Foodies. Do you know any Asian person who isn’t a foodie? Or am I stereotyping now?

I digress.

--

--

Katharine Chan
Be Unique

Sum (心, ♡) on Sleeve | Author. Speaker. Wife. Mom of 2 | Embrace Culture. Love Yourself. Improve Relationships | sumonsleeve.com/books