Creating Reasonable Boundaries With Heavy Drinking Friends

Read all about Last Saturday at the Tapas to learn from my mistakes…

Doran Lamb
Beautiful Hangover

--

woman looking distressed friends arguing
Photo by Liza Summer from Pexels

I have previously written about how lucky I am in keeping the majority of my drinking buddies since getting sober.

However, I am now faced with the possibility that this luck was prematurely declared.

Last Saturday, I arranged to meet a friend for dinner in a tapas bar. It should have been a fun evening. I love tapas, and I’m more than happy being sober in bars late at night. I find that if I’m in the mood to be out, I am now coherent and have way more energy than I used to have when I was glugging anesthetic all evening. But on this fateful evening, I was late. By the time I arrived, he’d drank god knows how much and was a belligerent, annoying drunken idiot, who completely ruined the meal.

Another friend commented, well you did arrange to meet him on a Saturday night in a bar. As in, what did you expect? And I realized that perhaps I had been overly accommodating with this friend about his drinking.

I expected that when we hung out he wouldn’t get totally smasho. But had I told him that? Nope. I had just presumed he would understand.

--

--

Doran Lamb
Beautiful Hangover

Top Writer in Mental Health + Psychology + Love. Acute observer of the stigma surrounding mental health and addiction. https://doranlamb.medium.com/membership