770 BC Siberia and the Great Wall of China

Ron The Siberian
Siberia Today
Published in
3 min readJan 2, 2018
ARTIST: Jian Feng

You know that I live in the great Taiga forest of northern Asia, in modern times known as Siberia which is rich with history that is unknown to most of the world. Also, once the home of a people that the Chinese built a wall to keep out of China.

Ever so often as I walk about I see or find something that peaks my interest and I do a little research on it. Such as where in the world did this idea come from that there are bears walking on the streets of Siberia. Yeah, in the winter many people have fur jackets and hats but they don’t quite look like bears.

Enough with the bears and back to the wall thing. You know that we are in the process of purchasing land in the Altai and this last summer when hiking about the tops of the “hill was an old ruin, but I assume it’s not old old, we don’t plan to upset it and you can still see its large stone foundation.” (quote from my earlier writing)

I didn’t have much time until just recently to look into this and I assumed that the structure was 400 plus years old. So, I dug through Mongolian history couldn’t find records of walls, neither could I find anything from the earlier Tatars records, of course, I can not say that I did an exhaustive search. Just the same I ran across this video of a larger structure that really isn’t that far away from the land.

This next summer when we head back to survey the land I’ll get pictures or take a video.

So what does the “Great Wall of China” have to do with Siberia, who were these nomadic tribes that threaten China so much that Qin would devote 1/5 of his population and nearly bankrupt his dynasty?

It appears that these walls have been being built even long before the Chinese first recorded them in 770 BC. The question that I have in my mind is who were these people in the north that such great walls were being built to keep them out of China.

Why Qin, emperor of China, could conquer vast populations with his advanced military but he could not hunt down the small nomadic tribes of the north?

The Chinese say that the Great Wall was built as a beacon and a delay barrier from the pestilent tribes that would come from the north. Wikipedia says it is some nomadic tribes from the north but the Chinese were building these walls 600 years before these Wiki nomadic people were in Northern Asia. The ancient Mongolians and Koreans tell stories of bear people that used to live in the north.

Who were these pesty people? Yetis or bears and from the way I sleep in the winter and like honey in the summer I’m sure I must be related to them.

Ron the Siberian

My wife says this is how I look in the morning

--

--