Collecting Smiles. Did You Smile Today?

Time to haiku it!

Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles
Being Known

--

My first rendezvous with haiku was decades ago when I took part in a month-long haiku writing challenge and thoroughly enjoyed it. After the first couple of days, I just could not stop composing haiku.

My email sign-offs were haiku.

I conversed in haiku.

I made haiku greeting cards.

My responses to people were in haiku.

As I stirred the pot of gravy on the stove, I was busy haiku-ing it!

I composed shopping lists in haiku.

What can I say? I was in love.

So now, when B.R. Shenoy tagged me in her post The Power of Photos: A Haiku, I went over to read and couldn’t stop smiling. I am a shutterbug too and my photo albums are one of my happiest places. What better way to capture cherished moments for eternity than with a photograph? What better way to find endless prompts and inspiration to write?

I’ve worshipped the written word ever since I can remember. I love to write and consider myself fortunate to be living the dream as a writer and editor. Since words are ever brewing in my head, here’s my response to the tag, in haiku.

Writing words that heal
Collecting Smiles from readers
Makes my life worthwhile.

Thank you for the Haiku it! call, Galit Birk, PhD — love the prompt!

Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles. Did you smile today?

I love Medium and the wonderful writers I engage with. Sadly, the Medium Partner Program is not open to writers based in India. One of the reasons I write is to support underprivileged children. Would you consider buying me a cup of coffee? ☕ Thank you so much!

--

--

Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles
Being Known

Publisher, Namaste Now! Writer, all genres. Editor. Poet. Diabetes Warrior. Traveler. Photographer. Hopeful. Wears son's oversized tshirts https://vidyasury.com