Self-Love is a Priority This Week

Dr. Jennifer B. Rhodes
Awakening
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readFeb 7, 2021

Bringing Back the Art of Letter Writing for Valentine’s Day

Photo by Joanna Kosinska

Hello everyone!

We are a week away from Valentine’s Day. When I was a child, I used to love this holiday. I wrote Valentine’s Day cards to all the kids and was especially focused on making sure I shared Valentine’s with all the boys. I really did love love when I was younger and enjoyed the heart shaped candy and the break from the monotony of learning multiplication tables.

As adults we forget the beauty and simplicity of sharing notes of kindness. We allow our personal feelings of the holiday to cloud a greater view that, for at least one day of the year, we are reminded that we should be expressing love and kindness to others.

How did this happen? We tend to blame capitalism and the commercialization of all our holidays. That is a valid point to make when we have awakened. While Valentine’s day does not cross over to the same level of ridiculousness in the stores as Christmas, dismissing it is a pretty strong reaction with deeper underlying shadow. Most of the time, if we reject Valentine’s Day we are disconnected spiritually, disconnected from our self and disconnected from the world around us. We have closed our hearts so much that we find it too painful to write a silly love note on a post it.

We can do better and step into the role of role model for the next generation.

If you would like to join me for a letter writing workshop on Valentine’s Day afternoon, please do so. I will talk about the letters I have written through the years and read to you an excerpt from an ebook that will be released shortly about how I used love letters to process and heal remnants of my father wounds.

In the meantime, I want to say thank you to people who have been submitting their articles for Garnet + Fire. We are still looking for contributions to focus on empowering women and living with the energy of the divine feminine. This may mean contributions from men about their stories of healing their divine feminine energy or it could be about a self-care and wellness ritual you have discovered makes your life a more sensual and passionate existence. Remember that the divine feminine creates abundance. Luxury, relaxation, and the acknowledgement that we don’t have to work so hard to create a life we love is in her wheelhouse.

How have I been creating more love in my life this week? I decided to open my home while I am with family riding out COVID-19 to a foster dog. Lollypop Farm has a wonderful fostering system and I was able to manifest a dog named Neptune who simply needs to relax and eat. Neptune was abandoned and probably abused. He was found hiding under a blanket outside a local grocery store and an amazing human being brought him to Lollypop. He arrived to our home yesterday with a bowtie collar and a winter coat. I love animals and couldn’t see a better way to increase my self-love and support a local community organization than to offer my presence for an animal in need.

Neptune will help us with letter writing on Sunday. The planet Neptune is associated with intuition and spiritual enlightenment. I’m sure he will have a message for us!

In the meantime, you can read a couple of my most recent posts in Garnet + Fire. I hope you enjoy and I look forward to hearing from you soon. Sharing your stories of hope, inspiration, and wisdom is one way to use your spiritual gifts to make the world a better place. I’m so grateful to all of you.

Why We Love Talk Therapy Now

Why There is An Eating Disorder Problem in Argentina

With lots of love,
Dr. Jennie

--

--

Dr. Jennifer B. Rhodes
Awakening

Sex & Relationship Alchemist | Author & Speaker | Intuitive | Psychologist @jenniferbrhodes