Welcome to Titus Talks season 2, kicking off with Kathryn Hamilton!

The newsletter and podcast about the awesome people in biotech

Alexander Titus
Bioeconomy.XYZ

Newsletter

3 min readJan 18, 2022

--

Kathryn Hamilton on the Titus Talks podcast!

Hello my friends, and welcome to Titus Talks season 2!

It’s been a while since I have released an episode of my podcast and sent a newsletter, so I apologize for the silence. The past 18 months have been a bit hectic all around. Last year, I joined Google to lead work in pandemic response and research strategy, I joined the scientific advisory board of a few biotech startups trying to change the world (one is even trying to bring back the wooly mammoth), and I spent as much time as I could climbing mountains, skiing, and SCUBA diving.

But now that 2022 has arrived, I’m excited to launch a new season, with a new co-host, and to keep you up to date on the cool stuff that’s going on in the world of biotech.

Find me around the internet

As I get back up to speed again, I’m going to be using Substack as the tool to send out my newsletters. If you are receiving this today, you were either previously subscribed to my newsletter, or you have since subscribed in the interim when I was on a hiatus. Either way, I’m excited to share some thoughts with you.

A new season of Titus Talks

I’m excited to launch a new season of Titus Talks. Last season was full of interesting conversations with wonderful people, and this season will be no different. We’ve built a new website as well, so you can find all the episodes in one place.

Check out the new Titus Talks website

On the inaugural episode of Season 2 of Titus Talks, I’m excited to introduce my co-host for Season 2: Kathryn Hamilton. Kathryn is the Managing Editor of Bioeconomy.XYZ and the Co-Founder of the In Vivo Group. She thrives on working at the intersection of science, business, and art. As a science journalist and zealous storyteller, Kathryn integrates her passion for the scientific method and ethical business practices with crafting narratives that focus on the heart of our collective human experiences.

Listen to the conversation with Kathryn on Apple Podcasts

In this episode, we get to talk about Kathryn’s path to working with me at Bioeconomy.XYZ, how to articulate a unique career path, and what she is looking forward to in this coming season of Titus Talks.

Her advice in this episode? Find your ‘I dare you to do it’ person and choose how you define yourself carefully and give yourself the space to learn, make mistakes and grow.

Watch the conversation with Kathryn on YouTube

You can connect with Kathryn on LinkedIn and she’s always up for a new chat!

If you’d rather read the conversation, check it out here!

The latest from Bioeconomy.XYZ

For those of you that aren’t familiar, I launched Bioeconomy.XYZ as a way to empower people doing great stuff with biotech and in the bioeconomy. We have authors from around the world sharing their thoughts and experiences with us. This past week, we shared three articles that I’d like to highlight.

Write for Bioeconomy.XYZ

  1. A Future of Our Making is an article written by none other than the wonderful Kathryn Hamilton. In her interview, Kathryn explores how biotechnology and biodesign can offer a community-based, ongoing solution to the environmental and humanitarian implications of the international water crisis, led by the amazing Clean Water of Our Future biodesign team.
  2. In tissue engineering in veterinary science, Srikumar Krishnamoorthy tells us “there are numerous potential advantages of adapting tissue engineering research to veterinary settings — One obvious advantage is the availability of tissues and transplantable organs with no risk of organ rejections, and this can potentially result in the successful treatment of some animal patients which otherwise would have to euthanized.”
  3. And in an article I co-authored with Diane DiEuliis and Michelle Rozo in April 2020, at the start of the pandemic, modernizing biotechnology for the fight against COVID-19 and the future of pandemic response, its interesting to reflect back on how the anatomy of an outbreak requires specific response capabilities.

I hope you’ll share your thoughts with me as I continue to share mine, and that you’ll invite your friends and colleagues to join in the conversation. As always, I’d love to hear your feedback so we can keep doing great stuff together.

Cheers,

-Titus

--

--

Alexander Titus
Bioeconomy.XYZ

Biotech guy to pay the bills and backcountry athlete to pay the soul // Founder of Bioeconomy.XYZ // Former head of biotech at DoD