Feel It to Heal It

How to Overcome Disorganized Emotions After Trauma

--

Beetle perched on a plant outside
I’m totally buggin’. Photo by author: Veronica Wren

In the ongoing endeavor to prevent my past trauma from leaking all over my current relationships, I make a concerted effort to regularly check in with my emotions to make sure they’re in line with a given situation.

These check-ins often occur in the form of long-winded rants to my illustrious best friend, during which we solve most of the world’s problems.

The other day we were chatting about our excitement for our upcoming visit. We’ll be meeting each other’s partners for the first time, and while I’m confident we’ll all get along wonderfully, I’d been feeling unusually anxious about it. I couldn’t shake the feeling something was wrong or missing in my relationship, but I was having trouble putting my finger on it.

My partner and I have been together for a little over 6 months and things are going great. We challenge each other, he treats me well, and I’m feeling positive about the direction we’re headed. He makes me laugh, gets along great with my dogs, the attraction is there, and his communication game is off the chain. This is undoubtedly the healthiest romantic relationship I’ve ever been in.

So why do I feel so panicked?

--

--

Veronica Wren - Trauma Sucks. Recovery Shouldn't.
Black Bear

Trauma sucks. Recovery shouldn't. Subscribe for your FREE exclusive guided journal ❤️‍🩹 bio.link/veronicawren ❤️‍🩹 Domestic Abuse & CPTSD Recovery Coach