Seven First Hand Accounts Of Forced Breeding And Rape Of Enslaved Women

For The Sake Of Profit

William Spivey
Black History Month 365
7 min readSep 5, 2022

--

Photo by Mika Baumeister at Unsplash

I’ve written several stories regarding the forced breeding and rape of enslaved women for profit in America. This is one subject rarely taught in schools and in fact has been reclassified as “natural increase.” Perhaps my words have been insufficient in making clear the atrocities committed against Black women and families. I’m now providing some first-hand accounts from those who experienced it, not for enjoyment but for understanding. Seven accounts were not all that was available, but all I could bear.

“Marse Jim called me and Sam ter him and ordered Sam to pull off his shirt that was all the McClain niggers wore and he said to me: Nor, do you think you can stand this big nigger? He had that old bull whip flung acrost his shoulder, and Lawd, that man could hit so hard! So I jes said „yassur, I guess so,‟ and tried to hide my face so I couldn‟t see Sam‟s nakedness, but he made me look at him anyhow. Well, he told us what we must git busy and do in his presence, and we had to do it. After that we were considered man and wife. Me and Sam was a healthy pair and had fine, big babies, so I never had another man forced on me, thank God. Sam was kind to me and I learnt to love him.” Loiusa Everett

“A slave girl was expected to have children…

--

--