What Happened When I Published 25 Articles in One Month

Katharine Chan
Blank Page
Published in
6 min readJan 14, 2021

--

Photo by Aleksander Vlad on Unsplash

Around mid-November, I read an article about how a writer was able to make $4K a month writing on Medium. I was astonished. I had been writing for most of my life and barely made a fraction of that in months.

Of course, the article was well-written, straight to the point and its takeaways slapped me in the face like bugs on a windshield during a road trip across the prairies; I wasn’t writing enough, not even close to what the writer was talking about. And honestly, I was embarrassed to call myself a writer given how “little” writing I was actually doing.

I was pumping out 2 articles a week, 2 videos and 1 podcast. She wrote an article every day. Every single day, whether she felt like it or not, nothing else. No social media. No nonsense. No distractions. Purely writing. That sounded like bliss. And it led to an aha moment.

Write more and get published by publications

I had been feeling stuck. My videos and podcasts were slowly getting traction. And to be frank, after making hundreds of those, I was burnt out. Although making audiovisual content allowed me to grow immensely, it didn’t quite fit in with my creative flow state. I didn’t just try once and give up. I was doing that consistently for almost 2 years so it felt like the right time to…

--

--

Katharine Chan
Blank Page

Sum (心, ♡) on Sleeve | Author. Speaker. Wife. Mom of 2 | Embrace Culture. Love Yourself. Improve Relationships | sumonsleeve.com/books