How I got Into Bitcoin

AlexAltman
Blockchain Education Network
2 min readApr 1, 2016
Laurier Bitcoin Team for BEN’s Blockchain Madness Cross-Campus Tornament

I heard about bitcoin back in 2010, like most people at the time it was in conjunction with the dark web. At that time it was more of something legendary that had a sinister undertone to it. I had only heard that it was an untraceable currency that was used for nefarious purposes. This was my first taste, I figured I wouldn’t hear about it ever again and somewhat wrote it off as a fringe community.

In the summer of 2013 bitcoin entered my life again, this time it was championed by a door to door water heater salesman named Rodi. He would come to my house and rant about how bitcoin would become the next big currency and one day the world would take notice. At this point bitcoin was sitting at $100 per coin, it had grown significantly since its $2 price point I had seen it at a couple years back. Again I wrote the community off as an interesting experiment that would not stand the test of time.

Later that summer bitcoin saw its massive boom that drove the price over $1000. Me, like almost everyone else in the financial community finally took notice. Bitcoin became a driving force in the argument for the uses of digital. At this point I was hooked; I began researching heavily into mining and even purchased a brand new ASIC miner with a friend of mine. We decided to pre purchase a mining device from a Swedish company called KnG Mining. However at the last moment we got cold feet because of all the negative reports coming out about Butterfly mining devices.

Since that time I have kept a close watch on the markets and been involved in the community. For example, I’ve been building up the Laurier bitcoin scene and our University won BEN’s online cross-campus jeopardy:Blockchain Madness. I have watched as new start-ups begin to dominate the market and further push bitcoin into the global financial forefront.

I sometimes sit back and think about how Rodi was right and wonder where he is now.

--

--