Brawl For All : MonoMadness: Sittin on the Loch of the Bay

cj renoe
boelscardposts
Published in
4 min readNov 27, 2019
bartolio stares down jbl

Happy Brawl Wednesday! (tm) We are going for FIVE WEEKS of monocolored decks. I tend to prefer monocolor singleton decks in general because it means there are less “auto includes” (well besides these two) so you have more slots for “brewing”. I also decided to set myself another very controversial rule.

NO UGIN

I know I know, I said every deck should have Ugin, but a lot of my decks get a free win just by casting Ugin. So in order to show off both my superior deckbuilding and skill-based magic play I have decided to eschew Ugin. So I shall be thinking with a 58 card brain, as I feel like Stonecoil is still fine to play.

I had originally also decided “no planeswalkers” but have moved that to “only use planeswalkers that enable shenanigans” as we will see below.

So who we gonna use?

Emry, Lurker of the Loch

Yup old Emry, so we are using her for two very important reasons.

  1. she mills
  2. she affinitizes herself which means we will be trying to win with
Jace, Wielder of Mysteries

Old lab maniac jace is the reason I have softened my walker rule because alternate win conditions are my favorite thing on earth. So our battle plan.

  1. cast emry
  2. killbounce emry
  3. at some point cast jace and win the game

So what this really means though is that we can’t safely cast emry or put in any other real self-mill cards because if Jace hits the old yard we are pretty much dead unless we stonecoil out something big. We are running clear the mind if things really get bad. This is literally the first blue deck I’ve made that doesn’t have MIDNIGHT CLOCK because it so severely anti sinergizez with the deck’s gameplan that I for once had to cut it.

Emry’s cost reduction is realllllly what is going to allow us to donk around with things so we are running a few suspect/awesome cheaper artifacts such as

bag of holding

colossus hammer (YOU NEVER KNOW)

inquisitive puppete

Manifold Key

Scrabbling claws

Screaming shield (at least this is mill on a stick that we can use when we want)

Witches Oven (really awesome to sac emry with since it pays half the tax BY ITSELF)

Folio of Fancies

Crashing Drawbridge to haste out emry stuff if we need

Vial of Dragonfire , we can activate it to kill Emry also we are running along with it

RENOWNED WEAPONSMITH, this dude gonna help us cast our nonsense and find our singleton vial of dragonfire.

Salvager of Ruin is around in case we need to try and save something as well.

I crafted a Mystic forge for this, will see if it was a mistaken waste of a rare wildcard. Every now and then, as crazy as it seems, I sometimes to play other formats besides Brawl. Gasp I know. Mostly it is so these other formats can at least for a fleeting moment experience my greatness. I think historic artifacts is a baller deck and now I am 1/4 of the way there on mystic forges. I do think being able to filter out cards in my deck will be pretty useful. We’re also going to give mirrormade another chance , which as long as I remember not to copy my God-Pharoah’s Statue this time should be fine.

Ok, I don’t care, midnight clock, you’re going in. I can’t quit you.

So in addition to killing emry with either Witch’s Oven or Vial of Dragonfire, we also have in an old Portal of Sanctuary for a quick bounce for her. Untapping with Manifold key shenanigans for almost everything in the deck should be a good time.

Also included are a couple boring card draw/counters/blueish nonsense removal not worth mentioning.

Of note this thing is gonna take A LOT OF MANA to really get going unless I feel like taking 20 turns to bin my deck. This is probably the ONE SINGLE weakness it has. Will be sure to post my trip report conceivably tomorrow, but with it being the holiday it may be a little late, I know I know, how can you possibly enjoy thanksgivin without one of my brawlticles? Im afraid you may just have to tough it out.

UNTIL THEN, hope to see you on the brawl pitch.

--

--