Brawl for All: We Prove Shivam Right

cj renoe
boelscardposts
Published in
5 min readJun 29, 2020
the rules of brawl

Hey gang, I know it’s been a while since we talked some good old fashioned brawl but I must admit the BRAWL MUSE hadn’t caught me for some time. Worry not true boelievers, I am back and better than ever. We haven’t jawjacked in so long that upwards of maybe THREE SETS have come out so we will have some nice little A. Rooney style reminiscins for a few articles but for now we are going with CURRENT STUFF.

The genesis of this came when lauded magique luminary Shivam aka ghirapurigears aka cagman aka the salt and pepper inspirer himself made a proclamation. If y’all didn’t know, Shivam helped blow up the unintuitive why doesn’t my deck work Generals and not doing any of them there death triggers rule in edh (I know, I know, we are Brawl to the Bone players but I imagine there may be a slight overlap) so for that we have ETERNAL (everlasting, not lazotep) THANKS.

Oh yeah the statement itself (I tend to go cuss-free but he is a passionate man so I’ll allow this solid passionate cuss):

Our man is talkin bout the new Teferi in m21. I was thinkin yeah I agree that Master of Time would def be a BIG PAIN in old edh, then I recalled that I am a Brawlcore and was like hey.

  1. In glorious brawl walkers can indeed be our general
  2. This will be ONE ON ONE WINNER TAKE BRAWL IN THE BRAWL ARENA

So let’s see if the same rings true in our preferred pitch (it likely does). Teferi getting to fire off an ability every turn is kinda busto. So let’s take a look at old Teferi’s abilitahs and see what kinda nonsense we wanna get into.

  • 3=Phasing out an oppo creature, I quite enjoy phasing making it’s way back (probably would have preferred flanking but I dunno if the Tman would be doing anything so uncivilized) but this is kinda big yawn to me.
  • 10 = Take 2 extra turns, TWO BIG YAWNS
  • +1 = draw a card and discard a card, now THIS is something I can sink my jank teeth into.

So since we know brawl decks are actually 57 cards we get to chill with old stonecoil and Ugin again. I realized there’s another Ugin in m21 but I am a little wildcard-lite and didn’t feel like crafting him, so we aren’t at 56 card decks yet. My usual I can’t quit you cards like Midnight Clock, Meteor Golem and Mystic Forge (for once actually useful for casting stuff in the deck instead of me using it as card filtering in monowhite, whoops this may be a spoiler for a line down) also gonna make the cut. So what can we do in mono-u where we’d wanna loot?

Yup you’re right: Robots.

See there is another interaction I wanna toy around with and this seems like the perfect time. I am going to post two images side by side

“Chris!” You exclaim, “those images look exactly the same!” I know I know right, we literally have the same busted vintage shops thinger in our hallowed halls of brawl. So we are definitely going to throw these two cardboard HOUSES in our deck. So we are gonna go ahead and throw in a typical kissing disease robots package including Gingerbruet, diamond knight, henge walker, good old palladium myr since they got a reprint, emry to recast, and a sad renowned weaponsmith who is merely being used for his work and not to create stunning bows or cauldrons.

We’ll also have some steel overseer/manifold key shenanigans going on so that we get even MORE COUNTERS to do so as we please. Since we get to throw counters on old Dio (I was going to refer to The Ozolith as Ozzy but I figured the superior sabbath singer is a better nickname) whenever our brave creatures leave I’ve also thrown in some Iggy levels of BOUNCE with old portal of Sanctuary and Thassa. We also gonna ease in a Witch’s Oven so that we can do the old block and sac attack with any roobot holding onto some counters so that Dio gets the counters while WE GET TO EAT.

You’re bound to have some empty slots so fill it with your typical interactions and whatnot but I did want to mention some NEW CARDS that are pretty much going into every deck. Luckily brawl doesn’t have a glut of “auto-includes” for each color like some other formats but you’ll hear it from me first that these two bonafide studs are studily bonified indeed.

First up is MYSTIC SUBDUAL (a little late I’ll admit, but you still heard it here first)

Mystic Subdual — for when you reallly don’t want to deal with el general

We know that the best way to deal with a troublesome generalmander is to keep it on the board while shutting off any of its pita abilities. I’ve harked and harked upon how Demote is one of my favorite cards and this is truly the blue Demote. It is nice that it loses some power (turning old Winoter Ryder into a mere Pillarfield Ox) but it is less nice that it can still block, but as we are playing the color of the mind I am quite confident that you can mind magic yourself a way to keep the general stuck on the board hitting for mere pittances of damage.

Up next we have THE LION THAT TOTALLY JUST GOT DONE EATING DAK

Sparkhunter Masticore, machine gunner of walkers

CARL WEATHERS IN PREDATOR, RAMBO IN ANYTHING, SPIDERMAN IN 3 DEV ADAM, this lion MACHINE GUNS walkers like nobody’s business. As stated above, in this format we call brawl, walkers themselves can be the general, so this card is practically a license to bill (your opponent the commander tax when they have to replay their planeswalker). But Chris! you are sure to point out, it is “card disadvantageous!” . To that I say, you got 60 cards, what’s one or two among friends?

Since we can Brawl out to our heart’s content, I do not need to wait for a Brawl Wednesday to give this pile a turn or 40 so I’ll be back soon. Until then, I hope to see you on the brawl pitch.

WILL THE MASTER OF TIME BE ABLE TO LEAD THIS ROBUTT ARMY?

WILL OPPONENTS BE ABLE TO WITHSTAND THE ASSUALT?

TUNE IN NEXT TIME

SAME BRAWL TIME

SAME BRAWL CHANNEL

--

--