Book Review: Stephen King’s Skeleton Crew

A book full of stories to keep you up at night

Nanie Hurley 🌿
bookish nook

--

The book cover for Skeleton Crew showing a boy standing on a raft while being attacked by some black goo coming from the water. Around the book cover, there is a stamp saying book review, and another stamp saying very good and showing four stars.
Book review: Skeleton Crew by Stephen King. | Composition by Nanie Hurley 🌿 on Canva

It’s not a secret that I love Stephen King.

So, it’s no surprise that I reached out to another book from the master of horror. Since I’m reading all his works in order, Skeleton Crew was the next on the list. Bonus points that it fits into my reading challenge for this month.

I used to own a copy of Skeleton Crew in Portuguese several years ago, so the stories weren’t quite unknown to me. But apart from the first and most famous story in this collection, I couldn’t remember much after over a decade of reading the book, and I didn’t know what to expect.

I must confess that I’ve been slightly disappointed with Stephen King’s books in the past few months. Skeleton Crew did not deviate from the trend. In fact, it highlighted some of my personal issues regarding the stories from my favourite author. It’s not that his writing or style has changed; it’s more that I’ve changed.

Things that I never noticed before now annoy me. Stephen King is still brilliant, don’t get me wrong. His characters are as strong as ever, his stories well constructed, and I’m still enjoying reading his books.

But it’s almost like a long spell has been broken, and I’m afraid there might not be an…

--

--

Nanie Hurley 🌿
bookish nook

Bookworm, gamer, mom, writer, vegan, and human. I write about things that bring me joy.