Photo by Leo_Visions on Unsplash

Ink of the Soul: Writing to Connect, to Inspire, to Change

Beyond the Mirror and Mind: A Writer’s Quest to Inspire

God'sgift Oghale Amos
2 min readJun 12, 2024

--

Writing is a laborious task that requires intense mental effort, memory recall, and connecting ideas. It involves painting vivid virtual pictures in the mind and translating them into simple, understandable words that anyone can comprehend. These words are symbolized in written form, often in books, and are believed to have useful meaning. Great ideas are timeless and cannot be buried forever. Everything has a root, and for writers, the primary reason for writing is to express thoughts and preserve knowledge, building upon the discoveries of the past.

In the past, when there was no knowledge overload, people wrote for one basic reason: to express their thoughts and preserve knowledge, passing it on to others to build continuously. Philosophers believed that their understanding of the world could change it for the better, illuminating darkness, and they were right. Their works have had a profound impact, even unto death. The only way to do it best is to write about what they know and care about, sharing it with others. Knowledge should not be hidden; it should impact, cause change, and give new perspectives to people's thinking, creating awareness about life.

Their works have impacted us in this 21st century in a profound way, causing a shift in what we know yesterday, today, tomorrow, and in the future. I have seen myself in that light too. When I write, the first thing I do is stand and look in the mirror, seeing myself not as a black kid but as a writer whose words will be read by others. I ask myself what I see in my writings: the present me or the ambitious me. I strive to pen my thoughts in a way that resonates with my readers, speaking to them loudly in their minds, changing lives in a simple way.

I no longer want to be just any writer who writes without impacting or changing others. The difficulty of writing lies not in disciplining the mind to write but in thinking thoughtfully and infusing words with life. Anyone can write without intention or purpose, but I have resolved to write with depth and change deep!

I now write for the Soul!

--

--

God'sgift Oghale Amos
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

I am a simple "Parent Expert Doctor"...to me is all about Parenting+Family+Life+Tech+Children+Philosophy+Entrepreneur(ship)....+God!