Men Are Way More Insecure than They’re Willing to Admit

The ugly underbelly of patriarchy I see as a stay-at-home dad

--

Photo by christopher lemercier on Unsplash

I’ve never connected with as many strangers in such a short period as I have in the last three months.

My decision to quit a successful career in investment banking to be a stay-at-home dad resonated with more people than I’d ever imagined.

As a result, I went mega-viral on social media, got featured in an international newspaper on the cover page, and my story became their most-read story for the year so far.

I used this newfound fame to connect with as many people as I could while not compromising the core of my decision — time with my kids and family.

Having spoken to nearly a hundred strangers over the past three months in various capacities, I am starting to learn how vulnerable and insecure men can be.

Yet, they’d hate me if I told another soul about that vulnerability.

Why is that so? While the societal expectations from men are mostly not as debilitating as those from their female counterparts, there’s a significant price that men are paying as well.

While patriarchy hurts women a lot more than men, the modern man is now…

--

--

Pranshu "Maverick" Dwivedi
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs

Stay-at-home-dad who "retired" from a 12-year career in finance at the age of 35. Curious thinker with an opinion on nearly everything and is here to share it.