xrdp only listening on IPv6: Fixed (Again)

Figured out why xrdp is not working on Ubuntu, but not why it’s only listening on IPv6 or what changed — who is testing this besides me?

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite
Published in
5 min readDec 16, 2023

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics | Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Bugs | AWS Security | Secure Code | Ubuntu

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you want a summary of setting up Ubuntu with various security fixes check out this post:

OK after much trial and tribulation (probably too much but I didn’t look at this because I knew xrpd was running) …

I figured out that xrdp is only listing on port 3389 for tcp6 (IPv6).

I found an old issue related to this but I’m using a much newer version of ubuntu and a more up to date version of xrdp.

--

--

Teri Radichel
Bugs That Bite

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award