Get Outside Your Comfort Zone for Business Change

Jeff Yablon
Business Change and Business Process
2 min readDec 22, 2010

If you’ve missed it somehow, I’m not a big fan of style over substance. It’s why I spend a lot of time in jeans and a few good sports jackets instead of continuing to blow out my wardrobe the way I did years ago. And so every now and then I pick on Chris Brogan, who’s one of the smartest guys around but to me feels as though he’s saying almost nothing. Kinda reminds me of Tony Roberts, you understand?

Chris’ writing partner is a guy name Julien Smith. And I’ve come to believe that Julien is the guy who actually has something to say. Yesterday, Julien said plenty.

Do You Think You’re A Good Judge Of Character?

It isn’t exactly a foolproof method, but as Julien points out, the simplest, easiest way to find out what a person is made of is to ask them to get outside their comfort zone. Then, just stand back and watch.

The people you want to work with (or to the business change case, have work for you) are the ones who take a challenge to “get outside your comfort zone” as an opportunity to learn something new. A chance to prove to themselves and you that they deserve to be around. That they’re winners.

It applies when you look inward, as well. Take on the challenges of business change by getting outside your comfort zone. You’ll learn something new, I promise. And maybe it will be be about your own character.

Perfect chance to plug Answer Guy Business Coaching, eh?

--

--