Gamedev Log: “The Escape” #2 (Unity/C#)

A daily log of how I program a basic Unity/C# game: “The Escape”!

Mina Pêcheux
C# Programming
Published in
4 min readDec 14, 2021

--

⬅️ Gamedev Log: “The Escape” #1 | TOC | Gamedev Log: “The Escape” #3 ➡️

Yesterday, I started my gamedev log on a small Unity/C# game: The Escape.

Day #1 was about implementing the fundamental game mechanics: endless object spawning and mouse-based player actions. Today, let’s continue with more core features!

Project rules:

  1. I post a new gamedev log every day with a new demo video
  2. I work 1 hour max per day on this project
  3. I need to have a new visual feature by the end of this 1 hour (it can’t be just bug fix and refactors)

Day #2: Adding a basic UI, score, health… and game over!

Features & demo

On this second day, I decided to focus on a few important features for my game:

  • adding a score: as in all arcade games, players need to score points! In The Escape, every time you pass through a door, you get an additional point :)
  • tracking the player’s health: by default, players have 3 health cells; each time they hit a wall (or a laser, once…

--

--

Mina Pêcheux
C# Programming

I’m a freelance full-stack web & game developer. I’m passionate about topics like CGI, music, data science and more! Find me at: https://minapecheux.com :)