Adopting a kitten — the adventure

Magda Paiva
Catness
Published in
3 min readNov 4, 2020

There’s this community in my living area that gets stray cats and kittens and tries to find them families or shelters. I was following their posts on social network. They upload photos, almost every day, of tiny kittens and mothers cats they had rescued and some day I decided I wanted one.

It has been a year since my cat died (you can see all about it here) and I’ve been thinking about getting a new one for a few months now. So, after convincing my boyfriend, I contacted the shelter and they told me about this kitten no one wanted. He was beautiful: big whiskers, beautiful eyes, playful…but his fur was black…so no one wanted him…Superstition!!!

So we went to see him… He was so tiny and beautiful…He was almost all black except for paws and belly…So…

Yup…We brought him home …

At first he was so scared, he would hide everywhere …I mean everywhere…even in the worst hiding places. He even hissed at us, in the most
threatening way he could (that was funny!)

The first night was very hard because he meowed a lot all night long. I was afraid he would bother the neighbours but somehow nobody complained.

But in a few days he was playing.

We got him in a Saturday, by Monday he was playing around with us and by Tuesday he found our bed (his bed now). In a few weeks he owned the place…

We found out he likes Harry Potter, so its a plus!!

And climb the most weird things (mosquito net door)….

He likes to play with all kinds of tie or cords…

And he is our beautiful black cat, Isaac!!

--

--

Magda Paiva
Catness
Writer for

I'm a full time pharmacist, learning photography in part time and writing as an hobby.