A New Kind of Divorce

Breaking the contract

Nanji Erode
Centina Pentina
1 min readJan 29, 2021

--

Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

After driving for five minutes, I realized I forgot my wallet. I drove back, quietly entered home so that I won’t wake up Mary, and retrieved my wallet.

Mary wasn’t asleep. Her room was closed, but I could hear her talking on the phone.

“Yes, I want to get out of the contract.”

“……”

“There is nothing wrong with Pete. He has all the memories of my late husband. But I can’t forget the fact he is just a machine. He can’t truly replace my husband.”

I dropped my wallet.

After a brief pause, Mary shouted, “Pete, is that you?”

This a Mini-Novella in Flash exploring the relationship between robots and humans. Below you’ll find links to all of the related pieces:

Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 | Part 5

--

--

Nanji Erode
Centina Pentina

Ideator, Copywriter, Movie Lover, Science Enthusiast, Minimalist.