image credit: DHBogucki 2014

Humiliation

DHBogucki
Chalkboard
1 min readJul 11, 2018

--

The ties of community are unbroken,
but the knot in your stomach
has become an anchor.


(361)

I picked the word over a month ago and quickly forgot all about it. Today the fortunate reminder arrived that I needed to submit my prompt. Thank God for reminders!

I sat and let the gravity of the word hold space in my crowded head. I thought about it’s very personal meaning. This formed amongst the clutter that has me away from Medium more than I have even been since I first started reading. I feel like this prompt is so appropriate right now. I’d feel humiliated if this were a writing ground where we met in person because I’d have been out for weeks with little explanation.

Your turn

THEME: Humiliation

Share your own one-line poem on the theme as a response to this post, or write a stand-alone piece if you prefer. Tag your piece “One Line”. If you have a stand-alone poem, be sure to leave a link in the response section below.
Want to get notified about the weekly prompts? Complete this form.

Have a question about the One Line project? Read our submission rules!

--

--

DHBogucki
Chalkboard

Artist, Writer, Tattooist, Find me on Instagram, UnSplash, and FB under that same name.