protect my head

a Time to Rhyme collaboration

Emma Taubner
Chalkboard
1 min readSep 18, 2020

--

Photo by Emma Taubner. insta: @Emmadidit

within my roots, a flower crown blooms

protected by the breeze and dandelion fumes

my helmet, my halo, right down this rugged hill

the petals laugh, the still breaks shrill

the journey of sleep is when I fear

that my fatal fall is creeping near

when I crack my skull from a ground so hard

planted deep inside my cerebral yard

what else could keep my grange from harm

I ask for wings, rescued by an alarm

another sun steeped day distracted with flight

until weeds trip my wheels on a weeping night

This piece is part of the Time to Rhyme collaboration on Chalkboard. To continue the rhyme chain, choose rhyming words from this piece as a base for your poem. Learn more

I used rhyming words (night/right, steep/deep, weep/sleep) from Tannins by Tamyka Bell

--

--

Emma Taubner
Chalkboard

filmmaker, photographer, + amateur poet! insta: emmadidit