Pretending to Be Happy Takes a Lot of Energy

Jumping into the pain head-on.

Jenn M. Wilson
Change Becomes You

--

Photo by Wesley Tingey on Unsplash

It’s eye-opening when people comment on older posts.

My writing on Medium represents a snippet of time. They’re how I felt at that moment or something I was experiencing. When I read comments from an older article, with my feelings on something already passed, it gives me a new perspective and a chance to see the past with a different lens.

Staci Mitchell wrote the following comment on my article, “Divorce Me. Please”:

I don’t have a solution on how to move forward in the situation but it’s really not worth being unhappy. As strong of a front you may be putting on now, it is not sustainable. It takes a lot of energy to pretend to be happy when your not and no matter what has happened in the past between you, everyone still deserves a chance to be happy.

It’s fascinating when someone else points out the obvious that you never saw: it takes a lot of energy to pretend to be happy.

No wonder why I was so tired.

Since telling my husband that I was done with our marriage, a weight of misery fell off my shoulders. I didn’t know the extent of it until it was gone. Not to say that everything was smooth sailing from that point onwards but life seemed easier knowing no more…

--

--

Jenn M. Wilson
Change Becomes You

My midlife crisis and adventures along the way. I write because in real life my humor is allegedly too sarcastic and inappropriate. MediumNinjaGirl@gmail.com