7 thoughts after 7 days: Córdoba, Argentina

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad
3 min readMar 7, 2016

Cue the ‘holy shit, it’s been a week’ tagline.

But really, it feels like I’ve been here forever. Córdoba feels like home and these people feel like family.

Quick recap: Landed in Córdoba (after an 8 hour layover in Panama) at around 1AM on Monday, February 29th. Moved into my apartment that night, took a few days off of work to get acclimated, then got back into the swing of things on Wednesday. We had a jam packed weekend, including an awesome orientation (our Community Manager wrote us a song, I cried), a trip to a nearby river + lake, lots of dancing, and lots of exploring.

Thought I’d kick off this whole ~blogging~ thang with a series that I hope to continue in every city that gives you a little brain fart of some random thoughts I’ve had over the past 7 days

1. I never know when to walk.

I have seen one crosswalk with a light. I feel like every street is one way, and I’m always on the side where I can’t see the stoplight. Cars will run you over if you don’t move fast enough. Who has the right of way? Definitely not me.

2. I have ~70 new best friends.

I chose to go on Remote Year because I was craving a community. As I was bouncing around the States during the past year and a half, I felt #blesssed to be seeing my friends from college and my family, but I didn’t have a crew. Remote Year is a group of 70 people who are crazy, amazing, open to new experiences, and incredibly supportive. We are all still getting to know each other, but we all have the same values and that is something you just cannot replicate anywhere else.

3. Córdoba is the definition of a hidden gem.

Before I hopped on that plane, I honestly had no clue what this city was all about. I did little to no research, and for that, I am actually grateful.

At a glance, you may not be impressed by the city. But when you take the time to dive deeper, you’ll find it’s full of friendly people, beautiful galerias, and delicious food. Despite my little Spanish knowledge, everyone who I’ve come across has been friendly and patient. They want to know more about you and they even want to try to teach you Spanish! Literally even the lady who made me my choripán was giving me a Spanish lesson. (#ProTip: lettuce = lechuga)

4. It’s cheap as heck.

Uh, sorry, but it’s true.

$25 for a steak dinner (with too much wine)?

$1.50 for a macchiato?

$4 for a beer?

Yes, please.

Thank you, Argentina, for being a nice cushion to rest my broke-from-student-loans head.

5. This feels normal.

Maybe it’s because I didn’t totally uproot my life to go on Remote Year, as I was sort of a #digitalnomad since I graduated from college, but this doesn’t feel like a big life change. I feel like I have adjusted pretty quickly to the remote working + traveling, but I am sure that my struggles will come eventually.

6. I need a side project.

Other than eating awesome food together and exploring the world, I really want to figure out something to collaborate with my fellow Remotes on. They are an incredibly intelligent, talented, and inspiring bunch and I want to use them!

I have a few ideas brewing, so stay tuned!

7. Age is just a number.

I wrote about this here, but what I have really enjoyed seeing is how age is not a factor in relationships here. Sure, you can see some groups forming based on general age, but when I was living in New York and San Francisco, there was always the question of ‘where did you go to school?’ and ‘when did you graduate?’ and then the never successful Name Game.

For these people, that doesn’t matter.

What does matter is why you’re here, what brought you here, what you do, and what you’re excited about.

BONUS: Platform shoes are like a thing here.

You can check out this article if you really want to know what I mean.

--

--

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad

Writing things. Product-ing @wearequilt | Prev: @redantler, @beyond, @aboutdotme | Did the @remoteyear thing.