Good morning Cusco! ☀️ The view from my apartment.

7 thoughts after 7 days: Cusco, Peru

Kicking off our fourth and final month in South America.

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad
4 min readJun 13, 2016

--

I never had a craving for South America. It just wasn’t a place that was on my ‘list.’ Europe and I are best buds. Southeast Asia was up next. South America just sort of appeared into my life, gave me a big kiss, and now I never want it to let go.

It’s safe to say that I’ll be coming back. Maybe not to Bolivia, but this continent has captured my heart. I’ll miss it dearly. But first, one more month in the magical little city that is Cusco and some thoughts to go along with my first week.

1. Some people are permanent(ish), some are fleeting.

Traveling in a group of ~70 for a year can make you feel like everyone you know is there, all the time. For the most part I like it, but it can also be a little strange. I’m used to these people by now and they’re used to me. I’ve grown accustomed to the fact that (hopefully) a majority of them will be by my side by the time we get to Ho Chi Minh City next February.

These people feel permanent, but I know next February they won’t be.

Then there are the people who are fleeting. They’re the locals that I meet in each city, the random friends at a bar one night that I’ll never see again.

It’s a hard pill to swallow, these fleeting people. But regardless, I’m grateful they’ve passed on through.

2. You don’t need that much stuff.

That being said, I have a lot of shit.

I’m so over packing all my shit each month. I want to pack like my good friend Mike Chino, who remains stylish and dressed appropriately for every occasion.

I haven’t bought new makeup in almost four months. I’m using everything til it’s down to the last drop and refilling as needed. I think this is the first time I’ve ever fully used a stick of deodorant. (And that doesn’t say anything about my personal hygiene, just about the fact that I like to buy unnecessary things at Walgreens.)

I feel old habits changing. And I also look forward to downsizing in the coming months.

3. Who knew I’d miss breakfast so much?

Cusco is a deprived foodie’s dream. La Paz didn’t have the greatest food options, so living in a city where you can get pancakes, an English breakfast, and smoothies in a jiffy is a real treat.

4. You design your highs and lows.

Last week I was feeling all 😞 for a variety of reasons my friends probably already know about. Then something happened and I was back and high off life, realizing how strange this journey is and how lucky I feel to be on it.

I was bummed out for reasons that seem so trivial now. I have to remember that the highs and lows pass, and to embrace each day as it comes.

5. Cusco is touristy, but feels like home.

La Paz never felt like home. I never got used to that city. Cusco, on the other hand, feels like I’ve just plopped into a life I had in a previous life.

Maybe it’s because our accommodations feel like home. I’m living in a four bedroom *penthouse* with some fabulous ladies. We have a kitchen, I have my own bathroom. It’s straight up luxury.

Cusco is a quaint little town, full of people trying to sell you llama keychains and sunglasses. Despite this, I have more of a desire to wander here than I have in any of our past cities. I think it’s size and familiarity (it somehow reminds me of Split, Croatia — one of my favorite little towns on the planet) make me more inclined to just go out and explore.

6. We’re back on the party train.

Bolivia was a nice break from empty wine bottles and late nights. Now that we’re in the backpackers hub that is Cusco, I see the group returning to our old college ways. 😁 Not mad about it. We kill the dance floor.

7. Confidence is key.

Whether it’s in my work, if I’m doing this whole Remote Year thing right, or just rocking my newly adopted style of 90’s grunge, I’ve really come to realize that loving and accepting yourself is the first step in the rest of your happiness. (I know, I know, there are plenty of blog posts about this, but you really do have to experience it first hand yourself.)

If you read my post on Why I “Love to Travel,” you’ll know what I’m saying. But basically, being in a foreign country is comfortable to me. I feel more myself and in embracing that, these past few months has felt really, really good.

Check out my recaps of Còrdoba, Buenos Aires, and La Paz. Follow along on Instagram for my daily adventures.

--

--

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad

Writing things. Product-ing @wearequilt | Prev: @redantler, @beyond, @aboutdotme | Did the @remoteyear thing.