Creating an Organizational Unit (OU) and Service Control Policies (SCPs) with CloudFormation

ACM.170 Recreating our OUs and SCPs with CloudFormation

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
7 min readMar 1, 2023

--

Part of my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics. AWS Organizations. Cloud Governance. The Code.

Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | Sign up for the Email List

In the last post we considered which service control policies we want to add to our root OU.

Now I could jump in and create roles to allow people to do things, but there are also things I want to prevent before I start granting people access.

Consider the IAM architecture I wrote about here:

That shifted a bit as we considered how we would integrate with Okta, but the general premise…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award