Defining an AWS Organization Governance Architecture

ACM.180 Defining accounts and organizational units based on by trust boundaries and roles to protect critical assets

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
14 min readMar 14, 2023

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics. The Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Cloud Governance | IAM | AWS Security

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In the last post, I covered geopolitical risk in your supply chain in relation to our use of Okta, the IDP I’ve been assessing in prior posts.

In this post I’m pondering the accounts I may create to support a multi-account architecture in my organization. I may not end up with this exact structure upon further review and testing, but here’s what I’m considering at the moment. I explain the different Organizational Units and Accounts and their purposes below.

If you happen to use this information anywhere, please reference it. Referrals much appreciated. These are my own ideas…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award