Remove AWS Control Tower

ACM.219 Steps to Decommission AWS Control Tower

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
6 min readMay 17, 2023

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics. The Code.

🔒 Related Stories: AWS Security | Cloud Governance | Cybersecurity

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In the last post I took a look at the Pros and Cons of AWS StackSets.

In this post I’m going to remove AWS Control Tower from my account because it is preventing me from doing things I need to do. AWS ControlTower uses AWS StackSets and I considered using them in my own code but decided against it for the reasons explained in that post. For now, I just want to remove AWS Control Tower so I can continue migrating the remaining resources into my new account.

Decommissioning AWS Control Tower is a step that cannot be undone. If you don’t follow the proper steps you cannot redeploy AWS Control Tower later.

Prior to decommissioning AWS Control Tower

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award