Security Benefits of Golang Concurrency

Getting started with Go: Part 1

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
5 min readSep 12, 2020

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

🔒 Related Stories: Golang

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This post is a throwback to my old programming and software engineering blog, where I wrote about how I worked through figuring out various technical solutions.

I used Golang for a bit when I worked on the original Capital One cloud team. That was long before current events, not that I would have had much influence in that particular case, similar to some of the other talented security people who still work there. I liked the language when I tried it but then got away from programming in it for a while due to the particular problems I was solving. I’m exploring it again to see what has changed.

Number one reason to use Golang? Built-in Concurrency

Whenever selecting a technology, you should have a reason. The reason should not be “because all the cool kids do it.” In this case, I’m considering using Golang because of the way it handles concurrency. What’s that? I’ll explain in a few simplified pictures.

In this first picture, the program executes the steps sequentially. Each step takes 2 seconds to run the program. The program takes 8 seconds from the start of execution to…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award