Code Like Her Fellowship II — Weekly #4

Sarika Bhatta
Code Rush Blog
Published in
4 min readMar 3, 2022

--

by Sarika Bhatta

As a candidate who had applied for the previous year’s fellowship and didn’t make it to the selection, I was not hopeful that I will make it this year also. After receiving an email about not being selected for the last year’s fellowship, I thought the program was not meant for me at all. But, we know, everything happens for a reason. The year ended, and the application for Code Like Her-II opened. To be honest, I was not that excited to fill out the form so, I just “ehhh, let it be”. With a coincidence, the deadline of the application and my birthday clashed. After celebrating my birthday, I checked on the media and found out Oct 27 was the last date to fill out the application form. Call it a birthday resolution or quote something fancier like “never giving up”, I just opened my laptop and start writing my cover letter some hours before the deadline. I got the urge to make it better than the previous year and put my 100% into writing those. I filled out the form and just 3 min before the deadline I submitted the application.

I was not thinking about selection or rejection, I just applied for the application because of my inner urge. After a month, a very regular morning of opening Gmail as a starter of the day, I saw mail sent by Code Rush. I was selected for Online Test. I got excited and nervous at the same time and gave my best in the test. Luckily, I passed the online test. Then, the next round was an interview which went well. Passing the online test helped to build some confidence, however, I was even more excited and nervous in the interview. After a brief introduction about my hobbies and interests, the Code Rush team asked me some questions related to JavaScript. I thought I messed up my interview with my nervousness but after I received an email regarding my selection the real adrenaline rush began.

The whole process of application submission, online test, interview, and finally the selection was overwhelming. I was one of the 15 fellows selected from about 80+ applicants. The fellowship started on December 13th. The very first day was a detailed introduction meetup. I got introduced to the 14 fellow members.

Sabina Maharjan, a senior UX designer at Leapfrog Technology, was a mentor for design thinking and UI/UX.

After learning about Design Thinking, Figma, UI/UX in starting of a couple of weeks, in the 4th week, we started JavaScript. As a person who knew some JavaScript and its application and how beautiful this language is, I was very excited to learn more and dive deep into JavaScript. Our mentor, Sagun dai’s way of introducing us to the language and solving any doubt is worth admiring. He has worked as a developer in Leapfrog. At the beginning of the week, we learned about variables, data types, and String Manipulation. JavaScript is easier to work with and requires fewer lines of code for a single program compared to that of the C language. We learned about Array and unlike C language we can apply various methods like push(), pop(), etc, in the array. After solving some problems based on the array and string manipulation, it started to feel how handy JavaScript is.

We learned about Basic of JavaScript. How fascinating Objects are, ignited my curiosity to experiment with random problems available on the internet. Also, solved problems with the concept of function, and conditional statements.

The fourth week was overall a base for starting with JavaScript. We learned about many new concepts. Sagun dai gave us the assignment and we had a sync-up call in the evening for discussing our assignment. In the first week of JS, he gave us a basic JS program that uses string concatenation and array methods.

I am very much looking forward to learning what else this language has kept for me. Managing time, scheduling to-do lists, and doing lots of assignments have kept me very busy. I am enjoying this fellowship! After completing this fellowship I want to be proficient in front-end web development and get introduced to the marketplace working as an intern.

About the Author

Sarika Bhatta is a tech savvy who is continuing her bachelor’s level education in CSIT in Amrit Science Campus. She is a freelancer on Upwork. Most of her life has been based on the fact that, “one person is enough” and she strives to be that one person, the difference maker. In the dominoes of a developing world, she wishes to be the first piece.

--

--