How I Got Hacked!

And Lost My Data on AWS

Ruby Valappil
CodeX

--

Photo by sebastiaan stam on Unsplash

Life is unpredictable they say, for software developers there can't be a more true statement. We don’t know what awaits us each day when we open our laptops.

Today was such a day in my life.

If you have been reading my articles, you would know that I was building a tweet scheduler for fun and learning. Nothing serious, just wanted to figure out how deployment to AWS works and what are the basic steps to be followed to develop and deploy a product from scratch.

Every day I had a new challenge to face and I was learning about AWS faster than I could have by enrolling in a course. So far so good.

Yesterday I found two issues with the app. One was that the app deployed on elastic beanstalk had its health status shown in RED. The issue was labeled as “Severe” with the following warning message,

ELB health is failing or not available for all instances

I was not sure how to troubleshoot the issue and I was also getting a proper response from the health check API of the application.

As the app was deployed just for demo purposes, I had only one EC2 instance up for this without a load balancer. So the problem turned out to be that, health check on AWS is by default performed on “/” path. That is, an…

--

--