Ellie’s Story Pt. 4

Ellie is faced with a pressing secret to unravel, but will she be able to uncover her mother’s true death without digging up the threatening obstacles of her mothers past.

Destini Febus
Coffee House Writers
6 min readFeb 4, 2019

--

All parts linked here: Ellie’s Story Parts 1–3

I stood there in disbelieve, confusion and anger. What didn’t he tell me? Why was he hiding so much!?

I heard a knock on the door.

“El… are you okay?” Jesse whispered through the door.

“Uh…ye-yeah! Just cleaning up a bit” I hurried to carefully take the tape out of the VCR and find a place no one would find it.

“Well, can I come in?” She said in an annoyed voice. “Why are you being weird. Just let me in.” Jesse continued as the door handle started twisting.

I began to panic and couldn’t find a place to hide the tape. Where do I put it!?

There! A crack in the wall behind my bed, no one would ever look for it there!? No one even knows it exists. I used to hide pictures of Mom and my old Barbie dolls that Jesse would try to steal there.

“Sorry! Coming!” I shouted as I rushed to the door, out of breath and gasping, “ What’s up?”

She gave me a weird look, “You’re being weird. What happened to you? I mean, I know it’s hard, but we’re finally getting the truth, Ellie. You should be happy or at least interested. Instead, you’re being… weird.”

“I’m sorry Jess, it’s just hard. I don’t know why, but I…I just can’t see her without… imagining her being killed. Murdered. Brutally.” I began to tear up and break inside.

There was silence and the two of us stared at the floor, fidgeting and both trying to find a way to break the awkward, pin-dropping silence.

“I get it.” Jesse murmured through her tightened lips. “It’s not easy for me either, but aren’t you the slightest bit curious?!”

“About what are you referring to!? Jesse, this might sound harsh but I don’t care about any of those videos! What matters to me is what really happened to Mom. I’d love to hear and see what she had to say to us, anything she wanted to tell us had to be important… but I know…well, I have this feeling Dad didn’t tell us the whole story.” Shit…I almost already blew that. I need to be more careful and not let my emotions get to me.

“Look El, I get it. I do, but why wouldn’t Dad just tell us everything when he already told us how Mom died. It just doesn’t make sense, I’m sorry. I know you want there to be more about how she died and it’s messed up already, but she’s gone and finding out the truth, if there is one, won’t bring her back..”

“But what if we’re in trouble, Jessie!? What if there’s more we need to know!? What if those people weren’t the danger…”

“What are you trying to say, Ellie?” She looked at me with deep concern and I could tell I’m scaring her.

“I don’t know, I’m just curious. Forget it.” I can’t do this with her, she can’t know. Mom wanted me to find the tape, she wanted me to do the digging…but why?

“I need space. Tell Dad I’ll be back, just going for a walk.” As I continued to walk out of the room, down the dark hallway, past the grandfather clock those words kept ringing through my head. Be very careful. Hasn’t told you everything… I love you with all my heart.

Why? Why me? Why not Jessie, or grandma, uncle Joe?! There must be a reason why and I need to know.

I shrugged it off but continued to go back to the park in case someone was following me. I made another left, straight and two right turns around the block.

Photo Credits to Gabriel at Unsplash.com

Hmm…maybe they weren’t following me and now it’s certain… I am insane, I giggled to myself.

I kept going on my usual route back home, humming a melody I had heard earlier on the radio. I started to dance and walk since I didn’t see anyone around. It’s a long walk home, guess I’d better make it fun for once!

As I danced and mumbled the song, I felt so free, finally happy and better than I had felt in a long time. A few more blocks and I would be home, where I could finally get some food down and head to bed. If only I knew my life was never going to be the same after I turned the corner.

“Hey, Ellie! Remember me?” As the dark figure jogged closer from the other side of the street. I waited until he got closer to respond, only he didn’t get closer to me, but jogged closer to a car with their hazard lights on. I began to get weary and said “No I don’t know you. Leave me alone.” As I continued walking home.

“Oh come on! You know me, I’m a friend of your Dad’s.” That’s when it hit me, the guy following me, the sudden confession from Dad, I knew it hadn’t been a coincidence. I knew there was more to the story, I just didn’t want to know anymore. I started walking faster, as did the stranger and his friend in the car. “Where you going? I just want to talk to you.”

I started running when I heard the car accelerate in my direction. Tears welled in my eyes, my heart beating faster than I could’ve ever imagined. Only one more block, I pleaded. Only the car had been faster and cut me off before I could reach the end of the street. It was dark, and the only light given was a street light in the alleyway, away from my house. I took a fighting chance, thinking on my feet I sprinted down the alley, took the corner and found myself at a dead end.

I need to hide! I thought as I desperately searched for anything to hide behind.

As I panicked to find a place of solace, I heard two sets of footsteps running behind me.

My thoughts cried out. Where!? Please! Where!?

I found a nothing but piles of garbage and old ripped up furniture. I had to be quick. They were getting closer, so I tried running behind a broken couch that had been propped up against the brick wall. I wanted to cry, plead and beg for them to just go away, but I needed to be quiet if I wanted to survive.

“Ellie, come out. We don’t want to hurt you! I just want to talk, I promise. As the stranger grinned and cackled. “There’s nowhere to go, so why don’t we just make this easy and you come out? Hmm?”

Photo Credits to Zach Vessels at Unsplash.com

I thought of making my escape as they searched through the piles of garbage for me. I could run past them and go straight home, but then they would follow me and possibly kill my family. I could run and scream, but what if they had weapons. Are these the men that killed Mom?

“Come on Ellie! I’m not playing anymore! When I find you it won’t be…Ohh, there you are!”

I bolted down the alley where I came from, hearing the footsteps getting closer. Seeing the bright lights of the car as I reached the entry way to the alley.

“No! Leave me alone!” I screamed as they grabbed me by my arms, and held a cloth over my mouth. My vision went blurry and my limbs felt like noodles as they stuffed me into the trunk of their car and sped off.

To be Continued…

--

--