Photo Credit: http://fipfaworldcup.org/teams/united-states

FIPFA World Cup

Cait Marie
Coffee House Writers
4 min readJul 3, 2017

--

According to the Federation Internationale de Powerchair Football Association (FIPFA), power soccer was created in France in 1978. It was brought to the United States in the early 1980s and has been developing around the world ever since.

As I discussed in my previous article, “power soccer is played by individuals in power wheelchairs. It is played indoors, on basketball courts usually, and it is played four on four. There is a goalie and three players out ‘on the field.’ Each player has a guard on their chair to hit the ball with, as well as to protect their feet. The ball is a 13" soccer ball. There are three referees per game, one on each sideline and one in the center where the action is.”

In 2005, the first FIPFA World Cup was held in Japan, where Team USA won. They won again at the 2011 World Cup in France. This week, the third World Cup is taking place. From July 5–9, ten teams from around the world will be competing in Florida. The entire competition will be broadcast live on the FIPFA website, and you can check out the full schedule here.

I had the privilege of interviewing one of the players from Team USA. Natalie Russo, from Indiana, was on the 2005 team that won in Japan. I asked her some questions about her experience playing this incredible sport:

Q: How long have you been playing power soccer?

A: 14 years.

Q: How did you find out about the sport? What was your initial reaction?

A: A man named Jerry Frick came to my summer camp in Tennessee to give a demonstration. I thought it sounded silly. A bunch of wheelchairs chasing after a big soccer ball? I’m too cool for that. So instead, I went to the pool. My brother played, however, and had the time of his life. He persisted to my parents that we needed a team in Indiana. I was still very uninterested. I wanted nothing to do with it. My mom told me I needed to play until they had enough people. I went to the initial clinic to learn how to play and never looked back.

Q: Briefly describe your Team USA tryout experience. Were you excited, anxious, etc.?

A: Although I participated in past Team USA’s, I never got as far as I wanted. The first World Cup I was chosen to be an alternate, so although I put in all the same training, I didn’t get to play. I also went to tryouts for the 2011 team but didn’t make that team at all. I wasn’t sure I wanted to go through the heartbreak a third time, but after receiving some encouragement from a teammate, finding confidence within myself, and acknowledging how I have grown as a player, I switched from unsure to excited and ready.

Q: How is playing on Team USA different than playing on a “regular” team?

A: Playing for Team USA definitely holds you to a higher standard. A local team tends to be much more relaxed, whereas Team USA only gets together every few months, so we have to make the most of every minute. That means fewer mistakes, quicker thinking, and developing trust faster.

Q: Are there any specific teams you’re looking forward to playing in the World Cup? Why?

A: Not specifically. I am keeping an open mind because I am not sure what to expect. This will be the first World Cup with the “new” Strike Force chair. It’s changed the game a lot, so it will be interesting to see how other countries interpret the game. We’re ready for anything though.

Q: Where is the farthest you have traveled for power soccer?

A: Australia. I went there in 2011 when they were starting their soccer program there, to help teach the sport. I’ve also been to Japan though for the 2007 World Cup, which was just a hair shorter of a trip.

Q: The cliché question I must ask, what does power soccer mean to you? How has it impacted your life?

A: I certainly wouldn’t be the person I am today had I not introduced power soccer into my life. It obviously instills me with values that any sport provides: the importance of teamwork, communication, fair play, self-respect, etc. But it also opened me up to an unimaginable network of people and opportunities. I mean, when I was diagnosed as a baby, I’m sure my parents never imagined that I would have the chance to represent my country through a sport… never mind that I would take them to five countries in four continents because of my disability. It’s all because of power soccer.

Q: Anything else you want to tell readers about the World Cup?

A: Website: http://fipfaworldcup.org/

Thank you so much, Natalie, for your time and answers! We wish you the best of luck as you compete! For more information check out the website and be sure to watch the games while cheering on our awesome Team USA players!

--

--

Cait Marie
Coffee House Writers

Bibliophile, writer, Hufflepuff, and cookie enthusiast in pursuit of a BA in Forensic Psychology. Creator of Functionally Fictional: functionallyfictional.com