The Novel Part 2

Josephine Green
Coffee House Writers
2 min readDec 3, 2018

If you haven’t read part 1, click here.

“What would you like to do, Anna?” I asked, bending down.

“I want a juice and a snack,” She answered in a sweet voice.

I took her bag of things into the kitchen, hearing her walking softly behind me. I placed the bag on the counter and hunted for her snack and juices. I finally found an apple juice in a sippy cup and a cheese stick. I grabbed my tea and her bag of toys and said, “Let’s go into the living room and play, ok?” She seemed agreeable. I heard her little feet pitter patter behind me. I put the bag on the floor and watched as she plopped down beside it pulling various toys from the bag.

For now, she seemed preoccupied with the toys so I decided to give my publisher a ring. “Hello? Russell Black for Mark Hutchinson, please.”

“Russell? Hello.”

“Hi, Mark.”

“I was just going over the changes; they’re great.”

“Thank you.”

“You can expect your book to be on the shelf in about six months.”

“That’s great, I can’t wait!”

“I’ll keep you updated, Russell, have a good one.”

“You too.”

I hung feeling proud and with a great sense of anticipation of what was to come. I hoped this book would catapult me into the realm of fame and fortune. I glanced over at Anna, she was preoccupied with a doll now. I hoped the rest of the day with her went this smoothly. I sat down in my chair and sipped my tea contently.

Photo by Brandi Redd on Unsplash

--

--

Josephine Green
Coffee House Writers

I live in New Jersey, in the northeastern part of the state. I have a cat named Daenerys. I don’t have any children and am unmarried but do have a boyfriend.