Introducing the Ethereum Development Environment Part 2

Building & Deploying an Ethereum Decentralized App

Jackson Ng
Coinmonks
Published in
5 min readAug 27, 2021

--

Welcome back!

This is the 2nd of a 2-part tutorial I will walk through my Ethereum Development toolchain using the example of building the Freelancer Decentralized Application:

  1. Writing and Testing the Solidity Smart Contract
  2. Building and Deploying the DApp

The scripts and config files that I use for this tutorial can be found in my GitHub repository here

In this part of the tutorial, we shall focus on building and deploying our Freelancer Decentralized App to run on the Glitch platform (free!).

Photo by Fotis Fotopoulos on Unsplash

package.json

I developed the Freelancer Decentralized App (DApp) using Vanilla JavaScript and Bootstrap 5. Refer to my package.json file for the list of dependencies. An important library that the Truffle box added into package.json is Web3 — Ethereum’s library that lets the Freelancer DApp talks to the Ethereum Wallet to make calls to the Freelancer Solidity Smart Contract.

--

--