NFTs: A Gamer’s Journey - Part 1

Challenge #1

OneLand
Coinmonks
Published in
3 min readFeb 9, 2023

--

Hi NFT-game designers,

I’m a gamer. NFTs are not my thing. But hey, they’re getting more popular. So I decided to give it a shot and try myself at NFT gaming. But my little experiment raised many questions.

So I decided to write about my journey, hoping you could find in it useful info to help you onboard other traditional gamers like me.

I broke down my NFT gaming journey into 5 challenges. May they inspire you.

Challenge #1: “What the heck is an NFT?”

When you try to explain to someone how a cell phone works, you don’t tell them that it is a device that converts your voice into a pattern of electrical signals that are then turned into a string of numbers that are then relayed to the nearest cell phone tower in the form of radio waves and then sent to the destination phone.

You tell them it’s a phone…and that others can contact you with their phone whenever they want, and wherever they are, right?

So..

Stop telling me that “NFTs are Non-Fungible Tokens that enable you to obtain ownership over your digital assets”. Stop being so technical and vague.

Tell me the real-life implications of this definition of an NFT. Tell me an NFT is a digital asset that I can control.

In gaming, NFTs are created by game designers, even players, but as soon as I buy or receive one, I get full ownership of it. I can sell it, I can gift it, I can do lots of other stuff with it. I will even continue to own it if the game disappears…which isn’t the case for non-NFT games - if World of Warcraft halted for any reason, your character would simply vanish with it.

And if my NFT is worth something, and I want to stop playing, there could be a market for me to sell it on…so all the time and money I invested won’t go to waste.

Simple, right? But please take the time to explain it.

Now…show me how I can use the NFT in your game!

Find out in Part 2: “OK, & what do I do with them?”

Web3 has a lot of value to offer the individual gamer.

As an NFT game creator, you have the chance not just to influence a gamer’s in-game journey, but his/her IRL journey too — in learning about Web3, NFTs and the blockchain, and reflecting on ownership and asset management.

As a passionate gamer, I hope you’ll seize this opportunity.

And if you do…

I can’t wait to experience your game.

NFTs: A Gamer’s Journey

To stay tuned to the Metaverse (incl. Market Data, Market News, Sales & Mints, Events & Contests, Project Updates & Partnerships), check our Metaverse Weekly Wrap-Ups.

For in-depth Metaverse Market & Project Data, a Metaverse MediaHub & Land NFT Marketplace, check out OneLand.

Map — Decentraland: oneland.world

Twitter: @OneLand_World

Discord: OneLand

New to trading? Try crypto trading bots or copy trading on best crypto exchanges

Join Coinmonks Telegram Channel and Youtube Channel get daily Crypto News

Also, Read

--

--

OneLand
Coinmonks

OneLand is a MetaHub - providing metaverse land market data & analytics, Land NFT marketplace, LandFi tools and Metaverse MediaHub.