Recent mints and the importance of patience…

Charlie SOL
Coinmonks
4 min readMay 23, 2022

--

Age of Sam NFT Collection

I have minted three NFT collections since I last wrote and my experiences have been wildly different for each one:

Age of Sam 2nd Generation

These guys are brilliant, they have an amazing community and provide very regular updates on all things Age of Sam (AOS) and partners-related. As a 1st Gen holder, I was able to easily get access to their 2nd Gen mint in which I picked up 2 more NFTs here.

Current status: Their staking (moon missions) is in place now and I am earning $SOLARIUM from it. The utility from this token is due to be released soon but it already has a value of $0.3 per $SOLARIUM.

Thoughts: Keep holding and either make money from the tokens or sell my AOS NFTs for a profit in the long-term.

Baby Ape Social Club

This was my first mint after a collection had sold out but it was regaining so much traction that I didn’t want to miss out. The roadmap was exciting and they were one of the few Solana projects listed to be on OpenSea on the first week.

Current status: I bought near the top and it has ebbed and flowed over the last month which doesn’t concern me. The size of the community and the anticipation for the Alien Mutation drop will guarantee positive returns on the investment if I sell after the announcement/new roadmap is released.

Thoughts: I may hold these long term as I am collecting a fair about of $DAB (their token) which holds real value against the dollar as the supply is quickly depleting, similarly to $SOLARIUM.

Bulletpunk: Bitwars by Quiccs

There was a steady build up in the discord community and given it was spearheaded by Quiccs (the biggest toy maker and designer from South East Asia who has done collabs with Adidas), there was huge potential here.

Unfortunately, the logistics of the mint process wasn’t thought through enough and given that there was only 1.5 hours between WL (whitelist) and public mint times, it didn’t give much incentive to promote the project to gain WL status when you knew it wouldn’t be sold out by the time the public mint started.

Current status: they have had delayed with the release of their game which has caused the FP (floor price) to drop from 1 to 0.38 SOL. The game is expected to now release in the next 3 days so let’s watch this space.

Thoughts: These NFTs will go up in value as soon as the game is released, most likely hitting/exceeding FP again so I will sell at this point and exit.

Upcoming mints:

Azra Games

I am most excited about this mint some time in June. The founders have a proven track record in the gaming space (Star Wars: Galaxy of Heroes creators) and they make it hard to gain WL (fortunately I was early and proactive so managed to get onto it).

They are blockchain agnostic so this multichain approach will be my first experience of minting this way so I am intrigued to see how it plays out. They have been quoted to say ‘this NFT will never been cheaper than the mint price’ so I look forward to seeing this play out.

Thoughts: Raise enough SOL to ensure I can mint one of these.

Duppies

From the founders of DeGods (top 10 Solana NFTs), this is their next creation. To mint outright you need to have £1000 worth of $DUST (which can be purchased via a website or earned through engagement across socials. Given the FP of DeGods (£15k), there is little doubt that Duppies will reach those heights as well!

Thoughts: Try to get $DUST through engagement, if I get traction then I will purchase the remaining amount needed to mint.

Conclusion

My learnings this month have been that unless I am 100% sure of a project, their doxxed team and roadmap, I will not mint before it is on public sale. At that point I can work out if they are either; just hype that will quickly tank the floor price or if the creators are executing on their plan effectively and there is steady growth.

Thank you for reading to the end. If you have any comments or questions about this article, please leave a message. Also, if there are any mistakes in the content, I would appreciate it if you could point them out.

Charlie SOL 💫

Next time…the FOMO of STEPN and a full review of all my NFTs and where I am making passive income from.

Join Coinmonks Telegram Channel and Youtube Channel learn about crypto trading and investing

Also, Read

--

--

Charlie SOL
Coinmonks

An NFT Trader providing insight along the way.