What It’s Like Mining Cryptocurrency in 2024

An inside look at cryptocurrency mining for hobbyists and at-home crypto miners in early 2024.

Bitcoin Binge
Coinmonks
Published in
4 min readApr 19, 2024

--

In 2020, I built an ethereum mining rig for under $1,000. If you’re familiar with ethereum, however, then you already know that it’s no longer minable. I started out mining ethereum but have pivoted to both ravencoin and ethereum classic at various points in time. Ethereum merged to ETH 2.0 and became a proof-of-stake blockchain.

C’est la vie. I’m a bitcoiner first and foremost and my intention when mining ETH, just as with ravencoin and ethereum classic, was always to mine a profitable coin that was easily convertible to bitcoin.

Here’s a look back at the posts I wrote about my at-home cryptocurrency mining rig dating back to 2020. They provide in depth looks at what I was mining and why, along with profitability insights and my takes on the broader cryptocurrency mining landscape.

--

--