Why I wrote a book even though I’m not an author

Christos Palaskas
Coinmonks

--

The Stavronikita monastery and Mt Athos peak at the background

When I was 32 years old, I returned to society and civilization after a 7.5 years Sabbatical, living on a mountain as a monk. I didn’t have any possessions, I didn’t know how to interact with people, esp. with women, since they are not allowed on the whole peninsula of Athos, Greece, where I had been living.

Given that was a peculiar situation, an unusual life experience, I was continuously been asked 3 questions:

  • Why did you become a monk?
  • How was life there?
  • Why did you decide to leave the monastery and return to society?

By answering these questions and more, that naturally come after these, I realized that people enjoyed the story I was telling them. Some values that I was taught as a monk seemed interesting and useful to my audience. Then a phone call from another ex-monk that we lived together for years, made me realize that I am forgetting many details and stories of my time there, so I decided to write down my memoirs.

I am not an author. I am not good at expressing myself, my feelings, my thoughts. I am a computer guy, that enjoys coding and working on blockchain technologies, and does that for a living. But I also didn’t want to feel as if I wasted 7 years of my life without any impact to society. So I decided I would hire help to edit my memoirs in to a book and publish it, telling the story of my 7 years on Mt. Athos, with some few details of the life before and after, for context. I tried to weave the teachings I learned and believe are helpful to our society into the narrative, instead of being instructive and pushing any ideology. I tried to avoid giving direct advice on life, philosophy and religion but presented the facts, leaving the reader of the book to draw their own conclusions.

After 6 years of working on the book as a side project, with many pauses and delays, it is finally published! I have added 51 colorful pictures and 3 maps that help the reader understand better the setup of the scenery of each chapter. If you are interested in obtaining a copy it is available in paperback and digital (kindle) formats on Amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/Seven-Years-Mount-Athos-Believing-ebook/dp/B0BRBRB4NY

but also through my website (only paperback):

I appreciate any feedback, positive and especially negative, which will be used to improve the book in a potential second edition. You can add your reviews, or read other people’s reviews here:
https://7yearsonmountathos.com/product/7yearsonmountathos-2/#reviews

New to trading? Try crypto trading bots or copy trading on best crypto exchanges

--

--

Christos Palaskas
Coinmonks

Software Developer Engineer in Test, Blockchain Technologies. Cryptocurrency enthousiast, Cardano Staking Pool Operator. Former monk. Author.