MANAGING PEOPLE & TEAMS

My Employee is Underperforming, What Do I Do?

13 Questions to Ask Your Employee and How LinkedIn Does It

Andy Chan
The Human Business
Published in
11 min readJul 23, 2019

--

“I’m rooting for you. I’m the reason you’re in this role. And I’m going to work with you to do everything within my power to get you up to the bar, if not over it.”

That’s what Jeff Weiner, CEO of LinkedIn, would say to any underperforming employee in the company.

Every company has that one rockstar (or a team of rockstar) employee: these are the people that you can count on. These are the employees that are always performing within or above your expectations, with consistency, quality. You’d think they’d always stay the same and never falter.

Here’s the reality: rockstars are human beings, and to err is to be human. Machines break down all the time—what about human beings that are infinitely more complex, with organs that even we don’t know enough ourselves? Yet, in many organizations, leaders and managers often treat underperformance as a one-off, simple situation.

Underperformance is deep-rooted and predicated on many factors, and if ignored or allowed to stay, the domino effect will be…

--

--

Andy Chan
The Human Business

Product design @ Delivery Hero. I write about pretty much anything I want to write.