Update: No New Friends

Is anyone actually reading this? Probably not, seeing as how I’ve yet to make myself acquainted with the others enrolled in the class this writing is required for; however, prepare for another small spiel on the importance of communication and furthermore why I desperately need improvement.

You see, prior to transferring here last semester, I was deeply satisfied with the social circle and connections I was forming at George Mason University, in both personal and business perspectives. And despite my obnoxious hesitancy in introducing myself to others, I casually took it upon myself to regularly attend events and join organizations that would help to better me both as a person and as a future worker. Therefore, in attempt to continue these practices and strengthen my communication skills, I have reached out to the UB chapter of Alpha Phi Omega, a coed service fraternity to which I was a brother of back at GMU.

Following the lines of WenJie Zheng’s (2017) statement, “Anyone can benefit from learning and building network[s]. No matter who you are, what you [are] looking for, or what you plan on achieving or pursu[ing],” I did so to simply form a niche for myself here on campus. He explains how social networking is key for more than just a successful business life, but for casual relationships as well. It was these thoughts I had in mind as I entered the classroom for the weekly brother meeting and prepared for a draining hour of forced conversation.

Small chatter with various brothers commenced as I tried to spend only a minute or two with each individual, aiming to avoid in depth conversation, as well as giving me the opportunity to repeat dialogue. Everything was going well, and I was actually gaining confidence in approaching people in small groups; however, everything quickly went south when the Chapter President asked me to introduce myself to the entire brotherhood, and received a swift, “Oh no,” in response.

Okay look, if I’m obligated to present in front of the classroom for a grade or something, I could of course feign enough confidence to survive, but being asked to talk about myself and my interests in front of two dozen people? “Oh no,” was about all that should be expected of me. All in all, the meeting was beneficial and I certainly progressed in quick introductory skills, but as for my self-confidence and presentation expertise? I have a long way to go.

Zheng, W. (2017, September 22). Why social networking — essentials of business: social networking. Retrieved from https://medium.com/essentials-of-business-social-networking/why-social-networking-986fbc33f294

--

--